Nowadays, cars and motorcycles make transport increasingly difficult. Why do people continue to use them? What is the best way to stop people from using cars and motorcycles in cities

Due to the rapidly increasing number of vehicles in cities, the traffic is becoming more and more terrible. In the circumstances, there are several reasons why people are still willing to use their own cars or motorcycles, at the same time, actions can be taken to deal with traffic problems.

First of all, the major reason causes the reliance on private vehicles is their fixability and convenience of them. Compared to the fixed routes and schedules of public transport, people can travel with their own cars or motorcycles freely, in terms of time and routes. Meanwhile, using public transport takes more time on waiting and transfer, and it is usually not comfortable as well, for instance, most carriages of buses and underground trains are crowded and smelly, particularly in rush hours. Furthermore, cycling and walking are considered to be impractical and unsafe, due to the long distance and the lack of specific lanes for them.

There are serval actions which can be taken to handle the traffic problems. Firstly, the most effective solution is to raise the price of gas in order to reduce the use of private vehicles. Another immediate practical measure is to change extra money in case drivers travel only on their own, as a result, people would share their cars with other commuters, such as their neighbours, to save money. Thirdly, investment in sharing bicycles can surely encourage citizens to cycle to their destinations directly, or at least use bikes before and after public transport, at the same time, building more sidewalks and cycling lanes is definitely necessary.

In conclusion, many realistic reasons are preventing people from giving up their private carts or motorcycles. Meanwhile, many solutions can be carried out to tackle this problem.