Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

Petting domestic animals at homes is a common practice by humans. It is considered harmful by a section of society to keep them with children while others refute it. Both of its aspects will be scrutinized in this essay before delivering a logical conclusion followed by my opinion.

Pets are best friends of humans who share a great bond with them. These innocent creatures are very gentle with children as they are aware of their boundaries. They not only maintain inappropriate distance from babies but also protect them from other wild animals. According to a recent survey conducted by United Nations Children’s Fund, it is revealed that children who grow with pets in their households are more protected as compared to others who do not have domestic animals in their house. Thus, pets play an important role in growth of a child.

Another side states the drawbacks of petting an animal which include dangerous diseases spread by these creatures among the children such as rabies and flu. If there are no preventive measures are taken, these contagious diseases can be harmful. Vaccination of pets is necessary in order to prevent little ones from these viruses. In Asia for instance, there is huge number of deaths caused by rabies because people do not get their pets vaccinated which cost them their life.

Petting an animal in my opinion is beneficial for children in many ways and it should be promoted. Concluding this, although pets can harm human babies unintentionally, this can be avoided by taking preventive steps by parents and guardians by providing medication to animals which safeguard them from transmitted viruses.