Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

Petting domestic animals at homes is a common practice by humans. It is considered harmful by a section of society to keep them with children while others refute it. Both of its aspects will be scrutinized in this essay before delivering a logical conclusion followed by my opinion.

Pets are best friends of humans who share a great bond with them in their good and bad phase of life. These innocent creatures are very gentle with children because they are aware of their boundaries. They not only maintain appropriate distance from babies but also protect them from other wild animals. According to a recent survey conducted by United Nations Children’s Fund, it is revealed that children who grow with pets in their households are more protected as compared to others who do not have domestic animals in their house. Thus, pets play an important role for the growth of a child.

Another side states the drawbacks of petting an animal which include dangerous diseases spread by these creatures among the children such as rabies and flu. If there are no preventive measures are taken, these contagious diseases can be harmful. Vaccination of pets is necessary in order to prevent little ones from these viruses. Due to the negligence of people, many life-threatening incidents took place every year. In Asia for instance, there is huge number of deaths caused by rabies in past few decades because people do not get their pets vaccinated which cost them their life.

In my opinion, keeping pet is best for both, children as well as animals in many ways. Summing up this, although pets can be dangerous for human babies, this can be avoided if there are some key areas regarding safety are taken into consideration by parents and guardians by providing medication to animals which safeguard them from transmitting viruses.