Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment.

What damage does plastic do to the environment?

What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays, plastic consumables are becoming threat for the earth as its waste cannot be disposed of easily. The essay will address its consequences followed by its solution in the forthcoming paragraphs before venturing to a logical conclusion.

The major damage it causes to underground waters as some harmful particles mix with soil and pollute the water which is ultimately consumed by humans and other species. Consumption of this water is creating various health issues among different creatures. Another threat from plastic is that it is damaging the water bodies of the planet, due to which most of the sea creatures are instinct. For instance, as per the survey conducted by National Sample Survey Office, New Delhi, it is revealed that loggerhead sea turtles are endangered because of ingesting plastic waste.

However, impact of this waste is unavoidable but can be controlled with the efforts of government and public. If plastic is recycled and converted in a useful product, its effect can be minimized. Seminars and awareness camps should be organized by concerned authorities, so that people learn what to do with the plastic waste. Though government has initiated many projects of recycling plastic but without the help of citizens the target cannot be accomplished. For example, authorities of Indonesia have started building roads from plastic dumps which are more durable than the normal ones and its citizens are following the rules and regulations to achieve this benchmark.

To encapsulate, in order to reduce the harmful effects of plastic, people and government must know their responsibilities. Implementation of policies is required to overcome this situation along with the support of the humans, otherwise this issue will get worse day by day.