Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born.

What might be the reason for this?

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Living in the hometown is a dream of many people and few individuals prefer to live at their birthplace because they do not find it comfortable to relocate far from their home. This essay will scrutinize the reasons behind it in forthcoming paragraphs along with the merits and demerits of staying in the local regions.

Taking care of the parents is one of the main purposes behind this as few individuals do not leave their parents alone at home at the cost of fulfilling their own dreams. Usually, old people do not wish to leave their homes to accompany their children due to which people have to stay near to their birth places. Another reason for not leaving the home is the emotional attachment with the family, friends, and relatives which makes an individual continue living at their native place.

The major advantage of living near the place of birth is friendly surroundings that enables one to enjoy one's life the most. In addition to this, most of the people get parental property as a gift, due to which they are not burdened to spend their earnings for a shelter. For example, a recent survey conducted by the National Sample Survey Office, New Delhi revealed that people who got inherent support in terms of house and land were more successful than the person who had to start everything from the beginning.

Despite the benefits of it, a section of society faces few difficulties in settling in their locality. Less source of income in some areas is the colossal disadvantage of it which not only restricts one to earn better but also affects the career growth of that person. Furthermore, people do not prefer to live in their native town if the weather conditions of such places are too harsh to live in. For instance, in order to avoid losses from natural disasters, people from upper areas of Uttarakhand are commuting to other cities because of the threatening risk of floods and cloudbursts.

To conclude, living near to the loved one is always preferable only if there are better career opportunities available in the locality. Though benefits are more than the drawbacks, its contrary side cannot be ignored. However, all this depends upon the personal choices of an individual whether to stay near to the hometown or to settle away from it.