Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views.

In recent decades, various nations have conducted global games events. Few assert that these are beneficial for a region while others think the opposite. This essay will scrutinize both the aspects in forthcoming paragraphs before venturing a logical conclusion followed by my opinion.

To commence with, there are numerous advantages of convening sports events. First and foremost, it is useful for development of a state as well as its citizens. In other words, the country hosting such affairs must develop its infrastructure, such as roads, stadiums, and transportation. Furthermore, a nation is representing itself on international level. In fact, it comes into recognition of many other countries which can be helpful for its relationships globally. To clarify, their trade links can be strengthened with the help of this limelight. For example, FIFA World Cup 2010 was conducted by South Africa for the first time in history. After the successful completion of the event, nation was praised by international bodies and provided opportunities to extend their business boundaries.

On the contrary, there are also some drawbacks of this. Primarily, such events are costly to be organized. To elaborate, the expenses of providing world class amenities to players and other guests as well as to preparing venues according to international sports standards are very high. In addition to this, there are huge possibilities of scams while preparing and spending budget on these occasions. To substantiate, concerned officials can easily manipulate funds allocation and fill their pockets with money rather than actually spending it on sports meet. For instance, during the Commonwealth Games 2010, which were conducted by India, there was a fraud amounting to rupees 70,000 crores becoming one of the biggest scams in history of sports events.

To encapsulate, it has both merits and demerits but, in my opinion, it is beneficial to organize such big events with proper due diligence for its fruitful results. Otherwise, these events can be affect economy of the country.