Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Decades have witnessed the fact that international sports events have a great influence on a variety of national aspects. Whilst it has been argued by some that organizing such an international event is a valuable opportunity for the country, there is a school of thought that holds that it might impact negatively on host countries. Both assertions have rational reasons which will be elaborated on in this essay but I believe that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, some people are afraid that there are challenges in financial burden and national security that a host country has to be confronted with when handling international sports tournaments. Firstly, the process of preparing for these events often demands the upgradation of infrastructure while most of those amenities normally fall into disuse after the programs have taken place which can cost a great deal of money not only at the investment stage but also in maintenance later. For the World Cup 2014, it took Brazil several years to revitalize its cities and construct various facilities including stadiums and indoor athletics arenas to meet the world-class standard. In addition, a negative aspect of this situation is the risk of chaos and security on the grounds of the uncontrolled flow of travelers to the hosting areas. Robberies, prostitution, or even terrorism are potential hazards that organizers have to deal with.

On the other hand, I believe that there are better grounds for arguing that host nations can obtain benefits in terms of economy and reputation if a global-scale sports competition is organized in this country. First and foremost, it is an indisputable fact that mega-events create a noticeable surge in revenue, especially in travel, hospitality, and lucrative advertising contracts which is attributed to a massive influx of tourists from all over the world. A case in point is Vietnam, which registered an escalation in the GDP index created during Sea Games 22, particularly in the hosting region. Secondly, major events are likely to draw global attention to the hosting nations which is a golden prospect for them to promote cultural and traditional images and gain global exposure even long after the competitions end. For instance, The 2008 Olympic Games marked China’s emergence as a major global player which presented a chance for China to show the world how “democratic, open, civilized, friendly, and harmonious” it is.

In conclusion, although sports events come at the expense of a few immediate problems, the benefits of sales proliferation of products and services and cultural promotion are of greater significance. In my opinion, host nations can also consider the option of sharing an event with a neighboring country to spread the risk and still enjoy the long-term interest.