Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment.

What damage does plastic do to the environment?

What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays plastic products like plastic bags, bottles, packaging are degrading the environment. This essay will elaborate on the negative effects to the environment and mention its solutions.

Since plastic products are made up of non-degradable components, it is tough to break it down to small pieces. This results in a products being collected in a landfills and water that remains unchanged for centuries. Plastic when burned even causes air pollution which has adverse effects to the environment and causes acid rains, thus hampering the aquatic and non-aquatic beings. For instance, accumulation of plastic waste is the main reason to disturb the natural ecosystem across the planet, which leads to unbalanced environment.

As a solution the governments should implement strict rules and regulations to manage these plastic wastes. Bio-degradable alternatives must be promoted against the use of plastics, and it will be suitable alternative as the products can be used without damaging the environment. Once used these products can be thrown away and unlike plastics it will degrade over time. Moreover, individuals can adopt proper waste disposal approach to minimize the unmanaged waste from plastic such as separating decomposable and non-decomposable items at their home. This helps to manage waste properly, thus reducing the risk of the polluting the environment. Both the governments as well as individuals have the significant role to play.

In conclusion, plastic waste causes soil, water and air pollution which degrades the environment, however strict rules from the government and promotion of best-fit alternatives as well as individual effort on waste management will be the major solution.