Nowadays doctors can become very rich. Maybe they should not focus on profitable activities such as plastic surgery or looking after rich patients and concentrate more on patient's health, no matter how rich they are. Do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that the medical profession is a very lucrative field, but I disagree that doctors should not delve into money-making plastic surgeries and treatment of rich patients and focus on patients' health instead of looking at his pocket. A number of arguments surround my opinion.

To begin with, I would like to say that it takes years to become a doctor and medical education is also very expensive these days. No doubt, doctors must serve the society, but to serve the poor or needy, first they have to generate their own source of income. For a doctor the status of the patient is not important and he has to treat anyone who comes to him. By rendering his services to the rich, he can provide help to the weaker section and thus help society.

Secondly, I would like to add here that cosmetic surgeries are also part of people's health. They are part pf mental health, which is also very important. It is not just the celebrities who go in for such surgeries. People having accidents in which facial features are affected, also need to go in for such surgeries. Can you imagine the mental status of a woman who has lost her external ear or has disfigured her nose in an accident?

Finally, there are children born with cleft lip or palate, who also need plastic surgery. Therefore, it would be wrong to say that doctors should not focus on such surgeries. There are doctors who are doing plastic surgeries absolutely free for children suffering from cleft lip or palate. They charge their rich patients but they never say no to a poor and a needy one. Also, it is well-known fact that as in any other profession, it is not all who earn very high.

To sum up, a doctor's duty is to treat patients; there is nothing wrong if he charges money from those who can afford to pay, as long as he is looking after the unprivileged ones too. It would also be wrong to label all cosmetic surgeries as unnecessary and money-making activities as these are also a part of the intrinsic health of patients.