Nowadays doctors can become very rich. Maybe they should not focus on profitable activities

such as plastic surgery or looking after rich patients and concentrate more on patient's health,

no matter how rich they are. Do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that the medical profession is a very lucrative field, but I disagree that doctors should not delve into money-making plastic surgeries and treatment of rich patients and focus on the patients’ health instead of looking at his pocket. A number of arguments surround my opinion.

To begin with, I would like to say that it takes years to become a doctor and medical education is also very expensive. No doubt, doctors must serve the society, but to serve the poor and needy, first they have to generate their own sources of income. For a doctor, the status of the patient is not important, and he has to treat anyone who comes to him. By rendering his service to the rich, he can provide his help to the weaker sections and thus help society.

Secondly, I would like to add here that cosmetic surgery is also a part of people’s health. They are part of mental health, which is also very important. It is not just the celebrities who go in for such surgeries. People having accidents in which their facial features are affected, also need to go in for such surgeries. Can you imagine a mental status of a woman who has lost her external ears or has dis-figured her nose in an accident?

Finally, there are children born with cleft lip and palate, who also need surgeries. Therefore, it would be wrong to say that doctors should not focus on such surgeries. There are doctors who are doing surgeries absolutely free for cleft lips and palate. They charge their rich patient but never say no to poor and needy ones.

To sum up, a doctor’s duty is to treat patients and there is nothing wrong if he charges money

from those who can afford to pay as long as he is looking after the poor ones too. It would also

be wrong to label all cosmetic surgeries as unnecessary and profitable activities as they are also

part of the health of the patients.