Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this.

Explain the reasons for this and discuss any possible effects it may have on society.

The concept of family has gradually lost its value, and as a result, there is a growing distance between relatives.This essay will discuss the causes that have determined this situation, as well as its social consequences.

Technological innovation and transport expansion are the main reasons for the lack of closeness between families. One hundred years ago, communication between people that lived far away was much more complicated due to the slow ways of transport and the complexity of the first telephones. Therefore, human contact rely on the people who lived with each other. In other words, families. Nowadays, thus to social media and new ways of transport, such as the bus or the subway, its quite simple to maintain friendships with people that live in other towns.

One of the consequences consist of a change of mentality. In the previous times, family had an important role in each person's identity. Someone's background and family history determined who they were and how they would be treated by society. These days, especially in developed countries, what the individual has made of himself is gaining much more importance. In addition, the lost of family relationships will probably generalise the feeling of solitude among elders. If old people are not visited or taken care of by their children o grandchildren, they could end up feeling quite lonely.

To conclude, the improvement of the mediums to socialise has caused a growth apart between families, which can lead to loneliness in elders, due to their dependance on their relatives, and a new conception of the individual.