Nowadays, many children are using cellphones and mobile phones. Many say it is good. Some say it is bad. What is your opinion?

Cellphones are becoming increasingly popular among youngsters every day. Whether it is a positive trend or a negative one has long been controversial. While some people believe that it is beneficial to a child to possess a mobile phone, it is argued by others that it brings more negative impact than positive. This essay will analyze both sides of argument before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

On the one hand, those who argue in favor of giving young people cellphones claim that it is crucial for several reasons. First, a mobile phone is the quickest mean of communication. For instance, if a child encounters a difficulty or a problem, he can easily reach his parents by using his cellphone. Second, recently mobile phones have been developed. In other words, now a mobile phone is not only used for making calls, but also it consists of games, books, as well as some applications that are educative for children, therefore, they are also considered entertaining devices. That makes it clear why giving children mobile phones has garnered support.

On the other hand, despite these reasons, opponents of the usage of mobile phones by children have stronger argument. Primarily, mobile phones may entice children to spend more time in playing than in studying due to the games on it. Another reason is that the unsupervised access to the internet on mobile phones has serious drawbacks. Moreover, the mobile phones are extremely tempting, that children are more likely to spend more time playing games and logging on to the internet than engaging in real activities. Concomitantly, it affects their social and physical development. Because of these reasons, it is easy to see why children should not use mobile phones especially in young age.

To conclude, both sides of the argument have strong support, however, after analyzing both camps it is obvious that using mobile phones by youngsters cannot be supported. I believe that its negative aspects will forever exceed the positive ones because it wastes time and hinders the child's social and mental development.