Nowadays in many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the causes for that? How can this problem be solved?

These days household waste production has been increased dramatically. People are consuming packed food items increasingly due to their extremely busy schedule which leads to more waste production. This problem can be resolved by mending this lifestyle and adopting paper based packages.

People nowadays depend on convenience and packed food items because they are more involved in other responsibilities and activities, such as jobs, internet and social networking sites. They prefer eating cooked/packed food instead of preparing at home. Owing to this reason, domestic waste is increasing incessantly and it is consisting mainly packages, plastic bags and food packing boxes. Another reason of this issue is that people are utilizing packed and processed ingredients to prepare their meal at home. They are no longer interested in preparing spices at home. This trend has been introduced by supermarkets since they are selling every food item in packing, for instance paste of ginger and garlic is available in tin packs. So this preference of ready to use ingredients has been playing a key role in increasing the volume of domestic waste.

Fortunately, this problem can be combat if people show readiness to alter their ways of living. For instance if people stop using ready to cook food items and start using raw ingredients to prepare their meal everyday, it can bring a massive reduction in solid waste production at homes. Moreover, if people prefer using cloth or paper based bags to carry their vegetables and fruits, food packages and plastic boxes will disappear from household waste automatically.

In conclusion, people can act responsibly and avoid adopting unhealthy lifestyle by cooking their food at home rather than buying from supermarkets and restaurants. This shift in lifestyle will lower down domestic waste production to a large extent. Bringing Awareness in this matter can improve these circumstances.