Nowadays many people drive to work or school instead of walking cycling or using public transport Does this trend have more advantages or more disadvantages

The more number of people prefer to go to school and college either by private vehicle of the institution or by their own transport. The usage of public transport though not completely diminished yet it has become rare beneficiary for people. In the past, both institution and parents insisted their wards to reach their destination by walk and drive by cycle. The impact of this trend across the globe has to be revisited, in order to locate the effects and solutions.

As far as I perceive this cultural change is going to create great imbalance in the environment, due to more fuel consumption and emission. The air pollution has become a grave concern for the scientists, as it leads to global warming and developing country like India is struggling to curb the air pollution level emitted from the automobiles. Since this is a global issue, all the countries should work hand in hand to resolve it by creating awareness among the people about the benefits of walking and driving cycle. In addition they should be encouraged to use more of public transport to avoid traffic on the roads which in turn would reduce the level of harmful emission.

Furthermore, in the olden days the physical activity was part of their travel and daily routine which enabled them to lead a healthy life. With the advancement of technology, people are becoming more dependent on those and subsequently get addicted from the comfort of it. Hence it affects their lifestyle leading to diseases like obesity, diabetes and high blood pressure. It is high time that each individual be advised to adopt the habit of exercise in the form of taking a walk , as part of their routine and driving cycle would be of great help in reducing their obesity.

In conclusion, this trend of preference for self-drive to schools and colleges brings about environment degradation to the world and health hazards for the people. The scientists, health care professionals and the government could work together in curtailing this problem. Though it might seem like a small speck of issue to be addressed , yet it poses a major threat for the sustainability of the earth and needs to be resolved for the welfare of the humanity.