Nowadays, many people drive to work or school instead of walking, cycling or using public transport. Does this trend have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Evidence suggests that driving personal cars to the workplace or school has replaced walking and the use of bicycles or public transportation. Although there are a number of benefits accruing from using personal cars, I believe that the drawbacks involved are more.

On the plus side, there exist some advantages for commuting in cities by own cars. To begin with, these vehicles are much more comfortable than are other forms of transport. Simply put, many opt for them due to the fact that they lay the groundwork for the convenience that many individuals can capitalize on. Stopping anywhere one desires, traveling long distances with having full control on air conditioning and heater, and being able to go shopping after work or school are salient illustrations. Furthermore, they can be less time-consuming. In terms of being in a rush, walking, cycling or public transport would not be the best alternatives.

However, not using more eco-friendly means of transport has serious consequences. The most axiomatic argument is concerned with air pollution. In fact, the more cars are on the streets, the more we are prone to breathe polluted air. As a result, it will pose many health implications to the city dwellers, who easily disregard their responsibility of protecting the environment. Moreover, owning a car is more costly. Take annual insurance fees, the price of gas, and the possible fees of repairing them as examples, they could entail a huge proportion of one’s monthly budget.

In conclusion, regardless of benefits, I think driving personal cars for daily matters can be problematic both financially and environmentally. Thus, it is highly advised to go for other types of transport instead of personal automobiles.