These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, more and more mothers shoulder the financial responsibilities of their family while their husbands look after children at home. While there exist some compelling reasons behind this trend, I, for one, think that it is rather a positive phenomenon.

To begin with, there are some convincing reasons why the role of fathers and mothers has undergone a change. First and foremost, women are not as conformist as they used to be in the past. Simply put, neither their husbands nor the social conventions can force them to stay at home anymore. In fact, the prevailing view that would see mothers only the housekeepers of the family is now completely obsolete. Second, many women now have the tendency to become financially independent. Here, men would be left with no alternative but to stay home taking care of children. Thus, seeing more women at the workplace instead of looking after their children is now widespread.

Admittedly, I firmly believe that this paradigm shift is a positive development. Although many would contend that mothers are the ones who their children need the most and their presence are by no means negligible, however, fathers are not less qualified. Firstly, in many cases, women are able to make more money than do men. This could happen due to women’s more qualifications needed in the job market. Second, many fathers now opt for working remotely or running their own business from home which is ubiquitous. In this case, they can readily both work on their business and watch children. As a result, this development can be of great value for the financial aspect of the family.

In conclusion, it has been recently a prevalent view that mothers can be the breadwinner while their husbands do not leave the house to have a job, instead, they are responsible for their offsprings. And there are many benefits accruing from this modern life development.