Some people believe that having sport in schools is a waste of time and resources, whilst other people believe that sport is a vital part of education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people argue that it is not a good idea to offer physical education classes in schools, others say it is an essential part of education for students. I agree with the latter because children must be provided with the latest sports facilities in order to be healthier, both physically and mentally.

On the one hand, supporters of not allocating funds for sports activities in schools assert that the benefits accruing from them are by no means negligible. To begin with, having been explicitly structured for knowledge-based purposes, these educational centers should give importance to other main subjects. To put it differently, all they highlight is to foster students’ scientific knowledge. Take those prestigious private schools which focus on the children’s theoretical lessons as an example; these students are bound to expand the science burdens’ due to their concentration on only science from the beginning.

On the other hand, others put forward to the argument that physical activities are the central aspect of education. The most compelling reason justifying their assertation is that the more these young students take part in sports, the less they are prone to illnesses and depression. In other words, what these physical activities do is that they highly improve students’ well-being. More specifically, only those who have both healthy minds and buddies can be deemed as the future full-fledged workforce for society. A good illustration of this is that more and more governments in industrial countries shoulder the cost of greatly facilitating their educational centers with sports equipment.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that irrespective of theoretical subjects, sports lessons matter too. Since these young learners are the backbone of the country, governments should take the responsibility to provide them with the required equipment.