Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games.

What are the positive and negative impacts of playing computer games?

Computer is a ubiquitous in contemporary life. They are commonly used by children to play video gamed in a wide range. This essay will discuss both detrimental and beneficial repercussions of playing computer games and will propose practical solution to curb the hazardous sides.

There are two primary points that are mentioned to elaborate on advantages of playing computer games. Firstly, it could foster the creativity of players. There are loads of games which require thinking a lot to pass a level or upgrade to new status. Unless having a smart strategy, which of course needs creative thinking, it would be impossible to win in a game such as Resident Evil or even EA Sport’s Football. Secondly, these kinds of games can provide the breeding ground of improving computer skills for those who have not been acquainted with using computer before. In fact, playing computer games can improve the chance of learning some crucial aspects of computer such as installing programs, working with setting options and computer’s configurations. These kinds of skills would facilitate children in their future life when it comes to career issues. These reasons would justify playing video games for everyone, particularly children.

However, playing computer games could result in two main adverse outcomes. The first is the sedentary lifestyle as a result of spending a lot of time to play and having no physical activities. In other words, whereas traditional games, children spend their spare time playing games such as football that needs a lot of physical activities, video games just ask the users to use mouse or keyboard to play and do not require having considerable movement, and so some serious health problems such as obesity and heart disease threat players. The second factor, linked to the first one, is the solitary lifestyle that is imposed to those children who have chosen computer games as friend rather than other peers. A recently published research article in my country has disclosed that 90% of children who spend more than 3 hours a day to play video games are reluctant to find a friend in real world. Therefore, playing computer games can result in some serious concerns when it comes to players’ lifestyle.

In conclusion, having computer and playing game with them is a common picture in these days which could have both negative and positive aspects, but there is a fruitful way to control its disadvantages.