Smoking not only harms the smokers, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The dimensions of smoking harms for both smokers and non-smokers around them has been brought into question. There is a dominant view among people that smoking must be prohibited in public area. This essay will discuss why restriction of smoking in the common places must be legislated.

The most important reason that is mentioned by smokers to defend smoking in public places is personal freedom. In other words, while they never voice their objection against the various disrobing issues originated from others, they expect non-smokers show reverence toward their right for smoking in any place that they want. The loud noise from children in parks could be considered as a tangible example that could be annoying for those people who came there to smoke in a silent atmosphere but they do not criticize about that. Therefore, smoker people know it as their legitimate right to smoke wherever they want, even though it could be disturbing for some other people.

However, issues regarding public health is a serious repercussion of smoking in public areas, and is not negotiable. In other words, whereas other problems that people may experience in public places, such as those who violate others calm by providing noise that should of course be curbed, smoking is a serious concern results in fatal diseases such as lungs cancer. Unfortunately, these likely disease not only threat those who smoke, but also those who are exposed to the smoke come from smoking. Thus, unless having strict restrictions on the places that people can smoke, it would be impossible to guarantee a hygienic lifestyle that is crucial in order to having prosperous residents.

In conclusion, smoking has hazardous outcomes for both smokers and non-smokers, and laws must hinder smokers in smoking at those places which are commonly used by ever one.