nowadays museums and historical sites are visited mainly by Foreign tourists rather than by locals. Why this happening? What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites?

It is widely seen that historical places and museums are largely visited by tourists and local people avoid exploring them. This essay will explore the possible reason for this trend and suggest a viable solution to encourage native people to visit museums and historical monuments.

To embark, there are many reasons why local citizens do not visit museums. First and foremost, people find it boring to visit such places. It takes a considerable amount of time to explore these heritage sites and people hardly find anything new there. So people feel it is a waste of time to visit monuments and art galleries. As a result, the number of local residents visits their museums is very low. Instead of this, they prefer to commute far away places for exploring new things which are more exciting and challenging than visiting nearer historical sites and monuments. A tourist, on the other hand, is eager to explore new places of interest in their destinations, and museums and historical places will assist them to have a better understanding of the rich history and local culture and traditions of the nations, they are visiting.

The government, however, can take steps to encourage local residents to attend museums and historical buildings. Firstly, authorities can organize cultural events and regular exhibitions at these places to provide people with a new experience every time they visit them. The second solution would be offering free tickets and discounts at weekends so that low-income groups and middle-class families can explore them. To illustrate, school can come up with assignments related to the history of a country, and this will motivate guardians to take their children to the local museums to collect useful information which will help them excel in their studies.

To recapitulate, local people do not enjoy visiting museums and historical places because there is not much they can learn from these places. Foreigners, nevertheless, are curious to learn and understand their destinations and hence they make it a point to visit these places. The authorities can encourage more natives to visit by conducting interesting programs like exhibitions at such places and offering free tickets or discounts.