These days and years, an unprecedented number of individuals are seen leading a more isolated lifestyle, than before, preferring indoor activities at home rather than in public places. The given essay will outline some explanation behind this tendency, which in my view is known to have numerous side effects, thus affecting our life negatively.

First and foremost, it should be said that the key factor that encouraged people to not leave their homes is the invention of the Internet and high-end gadgets, providing not only remote work, but also a diverse range of entertainment. A good illustration is the rise in the number of streaming platforms such as Netflix or Amazon Prime as well as highly interactive communication digital tools such as Skype or Zoom which proves that modern users of the Internet are fully provided with all means for interesting pastime within their homes. Another less evident, but still crucial cause to be mentioned is that in many cities and agglomerations overcrowdedness, and hectic lifestyle has led to a situation in which many people would prefer solitude and quietness indoors. For example, densely populated urban areas in South-East Asia such as Hong Kong or Singapore can be considered as places where citizens may find themselves not withstanding constant noise and buzz on the streets.

Turning to the explanation why this tendency is rather negative, the first and foremost to be highlighted is decreased socialization that may affect people psychologically. It has been proven by experts in the field of mental health that prolonged isolation is one of primary causes of depression, because people are proven to be “social animals”. A recent covid-provoked lockdown has clearly illustrated that thousands of people experience fatigue, anxiety, loneliness spending most of their time outside their social groups.