With the advent of 21st century, people are spending large amounts of money on marriage functions. This culture is derived from Bollywood to some extend. There is huge pressure on the families to make marriage party a successful function so all the guests can be happy. Various people think expensive weddings are not required and it cause problems for the bride and the groom.

To embark with, every family has a certain allocated budget which they plan to spend on the wedding. In maximum cases, expenses are more than projected one's as they are last minute expenses and some minor expenses are not counted as well. Spending of weddings is increasing at an exponential rate. for instance, gifting a car on marriage had become a status symbol nowadays and every parent think that it is mandatory to gift a car. Very small segment of the family has started to think rationally and they are option for court marriage and private reception.

Expense of weddings is increasing, however, in my opinion it cause various problems for bride and groom. Various people think that rather than hosting a big function bride and groom should save for themselves as a contingency reserve. It becomes tough for the couple to cope up with immediate life after the wedding as huge spending on wedding might cause little financial crunch. Large functions goes for around four to five days due to which health of the couple also decline as it causes restlessness and anxiety.

To elucidate, large spending's has a impact on the bride and the groom. Some initiate should be taken by couples to make there families understand that lavish wedding is not what makes them happy.