Nowadays people have free access to music and films online. Is this a positive or a negative development? Provide relevant examples from your own experience.

The pervasiveness of the internet has allowed people to reach for free entertainment media, such as music and movies. Although this may cause financial losses to corporations, the consumer still benefits. In my opinion, this is a positive for people and a negative for businesses.

People are benefitted by having an access to online media files because they are varities of movies and music that are available for free. In other words, they do not have to pay any significant amount of money to watch latest blockbusters or listen to their favourite artist, except paying the internet bill, which is nominal in most cases. Besides this, some online websites also allow users to download data, be it videos or music, that too without any charge.

Furthermore, online library have multitudes of films, ranging from local to international films and different genres, which people can capitalize on. Giving a personal example. Due to the pandemic, I was made redundant from my job. So I used this online platform to entertain myself and my family since we were confined to our home. This was particularly useful because I did not have to spend a lot of money to avail for gigantic entertainment resources. Online platforms, namely YouTube and Facebook, are invaluable for the poorer sections of society, since they can afford to entertainment themselves.

On the other hand, companies may encounter sizeable amount of loss due to less revenue from the sale of products. Individuals may completely stop purchasing movie tickets or music albums due to the availability of no-cost online options. However, businesses have found ways to recover this loss, for instance, by marketing their product with afflicted marketing and advertising. While they may not be to recover their complete loss, some profits is still generated by this.

To concluce, having a free opportunity to music and films online is definitely a plus point for the audience because they not only save money but also experience gratification without much effort. Nonetheless, this is injurious for the balancesheet of companies; therefore, many try to find ways to stop this loss.