Nowadays people’s life is changing rapidly and, as a result, family relationships are affected. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience

In recent times, the rate at which the lives of individuals are changing is at a rapid rate and this has affected relationships in families. This essay will argue that the advantages of these changes outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will examine some of the major disadvantages such as lack of family time and isolation, then analyze the positives which are better quality of life and access to modern facilities, before giving my opinion.

There are a number of reasons why families are experiencing changes nowadays. A major reason is the fact that member are moving to new locations for better opportunities. The aim is to increase earnings which would in turn improve the life of the person. For instance, there are people who have relocated to other parts of world for greener pastures and a better life. Furthermore, these places provide access to modern facilities such as rail networks and new technological initiatives like the internet and modern healthcare system.

However, there are several disadvantages that cause a strain in family relationships. The distance and busy lifestyle of most individuals who tend to move to new locations often make them isolated and most times unreachable. There are several barriers to communication such as time zone differences and the cost. For example, a resident of the United States who has family members in Nigeria will not be readily available to receive phone call due to the 6-hour difference in time. This could lead to homesickness due to little or no family time which has been known to cause depression.

To conclude, it is clear that rapid changes in people’s lives may lead to psychological challenges. While there are benefits such as access to improved facilities and earnings, I believe that family relationships should be valued above all.