Nowadays, people use social media to keep up with the news.

Why do they do this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend?

These days access to information is greater than it ever was, thanks to our connection to internet. Many of us use this connectivity to keep abreast of local and global events via social media. This essay will discuss why people do this and suggest that this trend has both positive and negative sides to it.

Nowadays more and more people are subscribing to social media channels and using them regularly. They are interested in a medium of communication, which is convenient to use and of high-speed. There are various platforms for instance Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn that automatically populate real-time information in consumer's news feeds section. Although users can customize their feeds, built-in artificial intelligence algorithms display news stories related to topics somebody's area of interest. Irrespective of economic strata everyone has mobile so they install applications which are easy to download, subscribe and use. Because people want easily accessible and quick mode of getting information about social, political and economical events around the globe, they are turning to online social networks for news updates.

While this growing trend offers significant amount of benefits, there are small number of drawbacks too. On one hand we get to know what is happening not only in local region but also in other countries instantly and post our opinions online. In comparison to traditional newspapers (whether paper or digital) and magazines, new social media networks provides new opportunities to see what our friends and family are reading and liking as they share and like articles.However, it can be unethically misused by few corrupt politicians to spread rumors about opposite party anonymously, biasing the public opinion towards themselves to win elections.Thus, overall it is an increasingly positive trend with few negatives.

In conclusion, social media is being used by many across the globe for getting to know about world events for various reasons such as speed and ease of use. It is an amazing channel to consume information in a faster, better and cheaper way with few downsides.