Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Wasting a plethora of food is being a serious issue in this modern society. I think there are two reason leading people to this trend. In this essay, I am going to explain why the problem happens as wells as introduce some solutions that the authorities can consider to reduce the number of food that wasted.

Regarding the causes, citizens are wating their food due to two main reasons. Firstly, they are unable to finish their meals. For example, we can see so many people in the buffet restaurant could not finish the amount of food that they got. However, there is no one who want to consume the rest of them, so it will be thrown away, as a result. Additionally, the grocery cost is lower than the income of the residents much. For instance, Burger King sells a meal at 5 dollar that includes two big burger and one big French fries while a basic salary nowadays is 12 dollar per hour, even there are other people getting higher wage rate at 100 dollar or more. Consequently, the food that they could not finish will be put into the garbagge easily.

In terms of solutions, there are two actions that the authorities can take it consideration. Firstly, the government should run some programs to educate people why they should not waste the food, for instance, videos that show many needy people in Africa who do not have enough food every day. In addition, increasing the garbagge collection fee is one of the effective method that will help to reduce the amount of garbagge. According to the report from Japan, they number of garbagge reduced by 50 percent after they increased the collection fee by 20 percent.

To recapitulate, there are plethora of people who do not have food every day, so the authorities should educate people that do not waste your food as well as should increase the waste collection fee to reduce the amount of food that they could not complete.