Nowadays schoolchildren and students are taught to be competitive towards their classmates and aren’t encouraged to help the weaker students. Do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

A sense of competition in school evidently encourages children to make more effort, and thus it hones their skills and intellect. However, it is preferable for children to assist and collaborate together in order to develop more comprehensively. Therefore, I firmly believe that drawbacks of competition in school outweigh its benefits.

Admittedly , it holds certain advantages. First one is that children will study as hard as they can in order to surpass their counterparts. It is also an effective method fort keeping children away from game addiction or unhealthy temptations. Furthermore, competition in school might help youngsters become more self-sufficient. For instance, instead of relying on their peers to handle difficult homeworks, they would do their best to solve them alone.

Apart from its advantages, its disadvantages are more considerable. With a fiercely competitive environment, children are driven by the desire to win at any cost. It also causes a slew of major issues. According to recent reports from India's educational department, three out of every twenty students try to bring down intelligent children by physically harming them. As a result, crime among the younger generation is on the rise. Furthermore, being competitive toward their classmates can make children selfish. They will be not willing to lend a helping hand to their weaker peers and they will not never imbibe other qualities which the less capable students might have.

In conclusion, its disadvantages outweigh the advantages, and youngsters learn more effectively when they share their knowledge with others. For the benefit of their growth, I believe that parents and teachers should collaborate to eliminate destructive competition in young minds.