Nowadays science has progressed so much that people are expected to be able to live 100-years in the nearest future. Some people think that it is a positive trend, while others disagree.

Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Mankind is trying from its beginning to increase the life expectancy and so far have made tremendous progress in this pursuit. While the scores of people are happy with the improvement in the age-index, a few believe this phenomenon as a negative development. In this essay, I will present a comparative analysis of both the views and will present my support for the former view.

Those who believe that living an average of hundred years will invite more problems might argue that the health or insurance cost for elders will increase enormously. For instance, the old people are more prone to fall prey of diseases due to slow body functionality, especially the digestive system. Consequently, intense care and expensive medication are required, if someone is suffering from a disease. Furthermore, these senior fellows cannot productively contribute to society and considered as a burden instead of a resource.

Conversely, the scientific developments made it possible to overcome the deadly epidemics which were causing millions of deaths in the past. In addition to this, the transplantation of various vital organs are happening, as a result, the life expectancy of people in the developed countries is approaching near hundred. Many countries have revised the superannuation age from 60 to 65 and keep taking the advantage from these senior citizen's experience.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that scientific advancement not only helped in the health sector but also in all other spheres of life and has improved the living standard of the dwellers of this planet. Although these benefits come at a cost, these outweigh the disadvantages of scientific inventions.