Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It's very disheartening to witness the waste that is being produced by lot of industrial and household activities. The major reason for this is, increase in demand of different products and if not required then those are just thrown away. Government can put lot of efforts that will result in the reduction of waste such as creating awareness in the people. This essay examine the causes of this problem and suggest ways that people can curb the amount that they discard.

In this modern hi-tech world large amount of rubbish is produced in industries. Industrial products are high in demand and customers want to meet their requirement in short time. As a result, production companies only focus on the output and not on the wastage which is being done in this process. To illustrate, In the survey done by Honda company, it was noticed that a order received 1 or 2 months before the deadline results in less waste as compared to the order that has to be completed within 15 days. So, the busy and fast paced world have gave rise to lot of scrap, that was not a part of former times.

Efforts of government can change the image of this fast paced modern world.TV series or workshops should be launched that will solely focus on the reduction of waste material. Recycling activities should be initiated by administration and rewards must be given to the innovative products produced with the help of recycling material. For instance, last year GTA organize an event promoting recycled products, in which around 150 people participated and display their products produced from recycling. This event motivated and encouraged lot of other people who were present as guest over there.

In conclusion, unless efforts are made to shift the public consciousness, this problem will only escalate. While governments have a critical role to play, individuals too need to take responsibility to promote recycling activities.