Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People these days are generating a lot of waste leading to huge amount of garbage production. Due to easy availability of products in the market sector, public purchase poor quality goods at low prices to save money. Governments can force strict rules and policies such as avoiding sale of low grade things.

In order to save finances in this cost-risen world, people tend to lean towards cheap quality materials. These materials have low life expectancy therefore finding their way to waste-lands. Since new and upgraded products are available easily, humans have started ignoring the value of goods. For example, China offers a wide variety of products in different costs so that all people can afford it and this can widely be seen in India where people use and throw these products thereby producing more rubbish. Hence, such is the market industry that focuses on quantity and not quality.

To stop such practices governments should take necessary actions by enforcing serious laws on manufacturing organizations as well as people. Because of these rules the industry will produce good quality materials with high life span rather than poor ones as this will set a bar. Also, imposing such regulations on people will force them to keep their environment clean. A study suggests that Singapore produces very less garbage because the government forces public to pay huge penalty in case of littering. In fact, many first world companies produce more and more high quality products leaning towards eco-friendly system to avoid waste generation. To sum up, garbage can be reduced by serious involvement of governments.

Thus, waste produced by people should be taken into account. Governments, market industry or people - everyone lives in this society and should aim to make this world a better place to live in.