Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

More than any time in history, human beings are producing more waste products and this is increasing at a very alarming rate. This essay discusses why this is happening and explores the measures governments need to take to bring this under control.

There are several reasons that can be attributed to the increase of rubbish in modern life. The primary reason is the growth of industrial areas in developing countries. Many countries in Asia and Africa are building more and more factories every day to meet the demands of their ever increasing population and for export purposes. The second reason is the change of people’s lifestyles, especially those who live in cities. For instance, more and more people are eating outside in restaurants and eating takeaway foods, which translates into the usage of more plastic products to be used as food containers which will inevitably increase the amount of plastic.

There are several measures governments can take to remedy this challenging issue. The most effective measure is for governments to reduce the amount of industrial waste by passing laws to curtail harmful activities such as waste disposal and encourage environmentally friendly activities such as using green energy. Secondly, governments can introduce regulations which limit the usage of polluting products such as plastics. For example, several countries in Europe are banning the use of plastic bags in supermarkets. This has helped reduce the amount of plastic people use.

In conclusion, more garbage is being created due to harmful business practices and changing lifestyles. However, if governments regulate business and introduce laws to encourage more environmentally friendly practices, this can be reduced to a manageable level.