Nowadays, young people admire sports stars though they often do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Sport is hugely popular around the world. Some people enjoy playing a sport and others just by watching it. People arouse a like and a dislike for teams and players, and then follow them in different aspects. Though some sports stars may not set a good example, I believe there are many positive sides of admiring sports stars.

A magnificent play and the struggle of players inspires and motivates people to work hard for their goals. When fans follow athletes with all their heart, they tend to know everything about them, such as the place they come from and their family background, which also tells them about their struggle and perseverance. Therefore, people learn from the success of such personalities and strive hard to grow and achieve their goals. For example, Sachin Tendulkar’s success story encouraged many people the world over to pursue their field of interest and give their best to get the plan. This way, the young generation would learn and grow; thus, they would make their country proud.

Furthermore, the profession of sports would have a secured future. With millions of fans admiring their favourite player, the number of audiences to see them would dramatically increase that would help the government to sustain such activities. Organizing more events would be possible by the funds received from these fans, which would promote sports to a higher level, rendering the field of sports a secured and long term. To illustrate, Europe organizes five football tournaments every year and earns $500 million just by selling the tickets of the matches.

In conclusion, sports have undoubtedly become widely popular globally. People admire athletes that may have some negatives; however, following such celebrities would have several advantages for the individuals and the governments in many ways.