Nowadays young people have to make the decisions about their future career. Some people, however, believe that teachers and parents can make a better choice for their future career. Discuss both options and include your opinion with relevant examples from your own experience.

Some believe that parents and teachers are the most qualified people to give career advice to the young. On the other hand, there are a lot of examples of successful businessmen, politicians, scientists and other professionals who chose their careers against the wishes of experienced advisors.

To begin with, it is definitely true that experience plays a significant role in people’s success. Therefore it is obvious that children, from the beginning of their lives, need to learn from adults how to distinguish good from evil, and how to behave. If children only ever did as they pleased, most of them would never even learn how to read. Therefore, they need guidance and advice at every step of their development. As they get older, it is in the interests of children to learn more advanced skills such as mathematics, physics, chemistry and biology. It is great if one’s father left them a fortune and profitable business but without detailed explanations on how to manage it, this fortune can disappear very quickly.

However, when the question is about one’s particular career, the decision making process becomes tricky. The job market has significantly changed in recent decades. Although some jobs such as politicians seems to never die out, it is hard to predict how the future job market might look like. Governments put a lot of effort to prognose what qualifications might be in demand in the near future, and therefore they can change study programs, for example, but their predictions are not always correct. In our country, the political system has changed a lot and much of the old advice has become useless.

To conclude, it is obvious that one should listen to the advice of parents and teachers in many aspects of life, but nevertheless they should never give up their dreams.