Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

I believe that improvements in technology bring many advantages to the learning process and one of them is the development of online education, which is now widely offered at the majority of universities. However, some people think that online education is not a positive development.

To begin with, contemporary telecommunications technology makes discussions between remote people as natural as a real-life conversation. Therefore, it is not necessary for students to be physically at the same place as their teachers. This technology has made possible a classroom which is not limited by the particular number of students it can contain. Furthermore, students themselves can reduce their spending on education expenses such as travelling and accommodation. It seems that a lot of learning materials could be recorded on video and rewatched more than once by students wherever they are.

On the other hand, although theoretical studies can be easily provided online, practical skills may be much more trickier to learn this way. It is hard to imagine that a welder or surgeon could be taught remotely. Therefore online education has its own limits. However, technology is developing and there are a lot of virtual training machines which could solve this problem in the near future. Other disadvantages of online courses could be the harm to the profits of universities and a potential reduction of teaching jobs. It seems that courses could be recorded once and then be replayed many times to different students, meaning that it would not be necessary to have as many teachers in permanent jobs, and as a result prices of the courses would decline.

In conclusion, although online education is not the answer for all students, in my opinion the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.