Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Various universities are now providing easy accesses and options to study while without attending the classes physically. I believe this method has the both aspects of benefits and drawbacks. I will discuss both the options below and be providing my opinion as well.

First of all, distance learning providing opportunities to those students who are unable to move other countries where these courses are available. These days many course are now appearing in syllabus comparing to past which are necessary to attempt in order to access advance studies. These courses are sometimes unavailable in origin country and therefore has to select them through online learning. For example, in my personal experience, one of the accountancy certification i.e. ACCA. It is a UK Certification so now you have two options either you go to the UK to obtain this certification or you can study through online studies by purchasing the materials online. Students like me who do not get a chance to study abroad can still avail this opportunity by enrolling online and receive the certification after passing the specified levels. Online learning not only helps amateur students like me but also helps many professionals as well. For instance, many people do have late hour sittings in the office and therefore are unable to reach the university and eventually miss the lectures. Some drop their courses in the middle of their semesters and do not continue their education development which ultimately help them to promote in their professional life.

However, there are still some drawbacks which are inevitable such as distance learning may not attract the students to continue their studies. Undoubtedly, classes have the environment that cannot be cope up with the online campuses because distance learning do not have the class atmosphere or presentations or evaluations that can tell you about your performance. Therefore, there is greater chance that students might lose their focus and drop their education.

All and all, I believe that distance learning should be motivated nationally and internationally so that more students can have the opportunity to study different courses which will aid them to strengthen their future. I also believe that online education will sustain young generations in their countries where later they will serve for their own nations and those who like to upraise their position in corporate world will have the best way to educate themselves.