Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Distance learning is gaining prominence nowadays especially in the remote corners of the globe where people do not have direct access to universities and schools hence many universities are providing classes online. In the below essay I will discuss this contentious topic and elucidate my arguments with relevant examples whether delivering online courses by some tertiary bodies has been a positive or negative development.

First and foremost there are a plethora of advantages of delivering classes online the most preponderant one being the idea to serve a section of society which does not have direct access to on-campus classes. Thus many students can enrol in the online courses and attain degrees which can pave a way for their success in professional life. Another distinct advantage of going for an online course is that it is designed to suit the convenience of the students thus many working professionals can pursue additional certifications.

In this era of the global connectivity even the remotest corner of the globe is connected on the internet thus it becomes easier for pupils to enrol for a course of their interest. Similarly, viewing of the popularity of such courses many prominent universities have started offering the degree as well as certifications programs globally. Additionally, apart from the quality course content, online courses are provided by renowned faculties from top universities like MIT, Harvard which further enhance the study experience as compared to the on-campus lectures. In a recent survey done by Economic Times in India, it was mentioned that majority of working section, as well as students, prefer to enrol of online classes due to the quality of faculty and the flexibility offered in such courses.

To conclude online courses provide myriads of advantages which are too significant to ignore so in my opinion the promotion of such courses is a positive development.