Some people believe that the fast pace and stress of modern life is having a
negative effect on families.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
Many people feel that family life is being harmed by the high-speed and pressure of
contemporary lifestyles. I somewhat agree with this opinion because the fast pace leads to
less time for families to be together, and stress leads to arguments among family members;
however, due to the increased time pressure and stress families are forced to cooperate
more, which brings them closer together.
The main reason why I believe family life is being compromised is because families have less
time to be with each other. As individual family members are busier at work and with their
social lives, they have less time to spend with their family. As well as this, people have many
things they have to do these days such as checking e-mail, updating their online social status
and so less time is left for family life. To illustrate, I spend about two hours online every night
attending to daily correspondence before chatting with my family members, whereas ten
years ago I would spend time with my family from the moment I walked in the door.
In addition, the pressure of life these days means that even when families do get together
arguments are more likely. This is because everyone feels tired and they are more likely to
get irritated and to react to their heightened emotional levels.
However, it does seem reasonable that this pressure may also lead to positive outcomes.
One such possibility is that family members will cooperate more in order to overcome time
limitations. For instance, they may share household chores, so that everybody has time to
relax afterwards.
In conclusion, I somewhat believe that the rapid pace and stressful nature of contemporary
lifestyles are having negative consequences on family relationships. This is because family
members have less time, and when they are together they feel less relaxed. However, I admit
that sometimes adversity can bring people closer together. Given this situation, it seems that
family members should try to be more supportive to one another and also parents need to
set aside regular times for families to relax together.