Nowadays young people lack an understanding of how to manage their finances after they finish high school. Explain why they do not know how to manage money and how this can be changed.

As per the UNICEF report, many young students, who finish high school, are not able to manage personal expenses and facing the financial problem. This lack of knowledge is due to limited education and lack of life experience which can be addressed by two simple ways.

Youth do not have rudimentary and vital knowledge of finance due to multiple reasons. The first and foremost reason is that parents take care of children expenses fully until they finish their high school study. Therefore, students have no prior experience in earning money. If parents teach children money management during high school, then they will understand the importance of money and spend the money in the limit. Furthermore, schools administration focus only on subjects such as Mathematics, Physics, History and Geography, and do not give importance to finance topic which is required skill to lead a successful life. Thus, students get away from the learning of the vital life skill in high school. Thus, both parents and schools are unable to prepare the children to manage the financial matter.

There are mainly two ways by which children can gain the financial knowledge. Firstly, school management should include the finance-related curriculum in the high school course, so that, students will have theoretical knowledge of finance. Secondly, Parents should also monitor how children are spending their pocket money, and guide them to use the money on required items. This way, children will come to know how to budget the money so that they avoid debt.

To conclude, young students inability to manage their financial matters is due to lack of attention and negligence of parents and schools, which can be solved if both of them take responsibility for guiding and supervising the school leaver.