With the availability of good medical treatment the life expectancy of elderly people has increased. Many opine that this may lead to a financial pressure for the government whereas others argue that having more old people will help the society to grow morally. I believe, senior citizen have an important role to play to mold the next generation in becoming a better and responsible individual.

As the technology advances, the medical field is able to increase the total life expectancy in humans. This has helped to increase the survival rate of old people. For some this scenario has built up a financial stress in the healthcare system. As, a huge amount of budget goes into treating these elderly patients, who according to them do not contribute anything to the society. So, they think that instead of allotting a huge budget for senior citizen that amount should be spend on other important things like education or child care facilities. However, it is a responsibility of government to help with the treatment of old people as they were once a tax payers to the nation, and have already contributed their part to the society.

On the other hand, many people think that having elders in the society can help to impart moral values to the children. As, children are the future generation of a country, helping them to grow into better individuals is of utmost importance. Apart from that, as most of the old people are retired, they can help to look after their grand kids. Nowadays, both the parents have to work full time in order to meet both ends, grand parents are the best option to have as a care taker. They can also help to impart the family and social values in them. In India, majority of kids are raised by their grand parents, and they have shown to grow up into a lot adjusting individuals.

In conclusion, saying that elders are problem to the healthcare budget is totally illogical. They have done their part by paying taxes when they had to. Rather older people are an asset to every nation, as they can help the future generation to become a good person, by sharing valuable knowledge.