In recent times, there is a dramatic increase in the number of individuals suffering from severe health issues because of obesity. This essay will discuss the main causes of obesity related problems including poor diet and lack of exercise. This essay will also suggest the solutions to these problems which includes adopting healthy diet and active lifestyle.

One of the major reasons of obesity is an excessive consumption of unhealthy food. People often tends to eat junk or fast foods as they don’t have time to cook because of their hectic work schedule. Junk or fast foods are rich in calories and bad cholesterol which brings many serious health issues such as heart-attack and stroke. Another contributing factor of overweight is lack of physical activity. Most of the office jobs demand individuals to work for prolonged hours in front of the computer which restricts their physical movement and in this way they burn the calories much less than they consume which contributes to obesity. For instance, a recent study by WHO (World Health Organization) revealed that 60% of people in youth category are obese due to excess consumption of fast foods and leading inactive lifestyle. In other words, poor diet and lack of physical activity are the major causes of obesity.

However, people can avoid this deplorable situation by taking certain measuring steps in their daily lifestyle. Firstly, people must avoid eating junk foods and must include healthy food such as green leafy vegetables in their diet. Green leafy vegetables have plethora of vitamins, rich in fiber which helps in digestion and keeps you full and hence aiding weight loss. Secondly, doing regular aerobic exercise such as brisk walking, jogging which can be done anywhere at any time brings numerous benefits such as burning calories and improving blood circulation which boosts your overall health and aids in weight loss. For instance, in countries like UK the government encourage its citizens to eat healthy foods and to remain physically active by giving discount on purchase of green vegetables and free membership of Gym with minimal joining fee. In other words, healthy diet and regular exercise are the best possible solutions to prevent gaining extra weight.

In conclusion, in today's fast pace world more and more people are suffering from serious health problems as result of being overweight. This essay discussed how people put on extra weight by consuming unhealthy food and leading physically inactive life. This essay also suggested that the solutions to this problem are twofold: to adopt healthy diet and to live an active lifestyle.