The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing.

What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society?

How can this problem be solved?

Obesity has become a major concern in the society. High level of body mass index leads to various diseases. This essay will discuss about the reasons associated with the inclining obesity amongst the people as well as it will suggest some effective solutions to overcome it.

To begin with, one of the main reasons leading to being overweight is the unhealthy lifestyle. Also, being lethargic and unconscious about the health regime can have an adverse effect on the human body. For instance, eating junk food and not exercising regularly increases a tendency to put on weight. In addition, due to lack of awareness about the ill effects caused by the sedentary lifestyle also adds on to being obese. Furthermore, a high level of stress at work and siting constantly for more than ten hours a day is also a major contributor to weight gain.

However, there are viable solutions to eliminate obesity permanently. First of all, mandatory physical activity should be imposed in all the offices. This will also be beneficial to make employees more productive and it will create a healthy environment at work. For example, In India, few companies have gym and swimming facilities in their offices. Apart from this, government should also sponsor free campaigns and organize roadshows to enhance peoples knowledge about the various diseases linked to being overweight.

In conclusion, weighing more has many health issues related to it but there are number of preventive measures through which weight can be controlled and diseases can be kept at bay. Hence, it is always beneficial to keep a check over ones weight.