The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being over weight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society. How can this problem be solved.

The number of humans who are susceptible to serious health issues as a result of being obese is rising. Why is this ugly trend on this rise and how can it be curtailed? This essay will discuss the reason and suggest ways to curb it in detail.

The major cause of obesity today is the availability of cheap fast foods. Unlike in the past, convenience meals were reserved for the elites. These days they can be seen at every major road offering discounted meal combos which have been found to contain high cholesterol and oil. The resultant effect is that consumption levels of these products have increased, leaving people with excess calories the body will converts into fat. For example, a research conducted by the Food Health Council of Nigeria in 2018 revealed that 90% of patients with cardiovascular and respiratory diseases exclusively feed on processed meal.

A workable solution to this menace is to increase taxes on quick meals. The law of demand states that an increase in price lowers demand for a product and as such people will either reduce consumption or stop totally. In the United Arab Emirates for instance, the government increased value added tax on ready made food by over 200%, this lead to a decline in overweight individuals because many people could not afford it. If the fat content of processed and unprocessed food is also regulated by government, there would be fewer cases of obesity.

To sum up, an unhealthy society is a time bomb that would affect the labour force and government spendings on health. There is the need to control obesity in the society by regulating food ingredients and introducing premium taxes on food.