It is true, that overweight became a huge issue for the last couple of decades. Mostly it has influenced people from rich and developed countries. I will discuss the reasons and try to derive some solutions for abolishing this problem.

Firstly, in my opinion, the main reason for obesity is unhealthy foods such as fast food, French fries, and soda drinks. In developed countries, these foods are so much popular and cheaper than people are prone to eat fast food every day. For example, when a person is very busy with work and has insufficient time for cooking food, they just choose to buy fast food. As a result, these foods like burgers, fries, and drinks, make them overweight or obese.

Secondly, many people give little time in physical activities which cause them to gain weight. For example, scientifically it's proven that a person can burn more energy through physical exercise. Therefore, irregular work-life balances can cause people to gain weight.

However, I suppose the government can play a critical role in reducing this problem. The state can introduce strict laws in controlling the marketing activities of fast-food companies. The government can also influence people to lead more active lifestyles. For instance, in China government encourage people to commute through bicycle and start their morning through physical exercises.

In conclusion, obesity is a really big and huge problem for all the people around the world. In my opinion, the Authority should look into this issue more seriously and take proper steps to help citizens.