Obesity is a serious problem in many countries, especially in rich

countries. Discuss ways to solve the problem. Provide specific

reasons and examples to support your answer.

Health-related problems have piled up immensely with the advent of the twenty-first century. Likewise, nations, especially developed, are struggling with the problem of extreme overweight. This essay will discuss the root cause of obesity and suggest possible solutions.

To begin with, common lifestyle disorders are a direct consequence of the shifting of the workforce from agrarian to a mechanized and service-based economy. People's jobs are now less demanding for hard labor and physical activities. For instance, man would manually plough a piece of land themselves to earn his daily bread which nowadays could be performed single-handed with the modern farm equipments. Although most of the things can be done with a push of the button, it had substantially decreased human intervention and thus led to less physical workout of the body. However, this did not influence dietary patterns as people are still eating calorie dense foods even though they could hardly burn them to stay fit.

In the solution, a comprehensive approach to tackle the menace of obesity should be employed at a national level. It may include routine check-ups, encouraging gym training and diet plans. For example, many school canteens in the USA have removed junk food from their menus and started grading the overall built-up of the pupil. Because modern throw-away culture is rampant in rich countries, it demands Governments play a larger role to help curb obesity. Therefore, selective taxation on high calorie meal is capable of containing the obesity limits of the nation.

In conclusion, the meaning of lifestyle is not restricted to fulfilling basic needs like food and clothing. Therefore, a collective effort must come from society to ensure that the way of living must be altered to match the contemporary world.