It is undeniable that being overweight has become a pressing issue worldwide and some affluent nations are badly affected by this. Although it is a sensitive case to tackle, a systematic and long-term approach may help it eradicate it.

To begin with, obesity issue among all age groups can be curtailed if the government ensures easy availability of essential infrastructure. This is because if people find such establishments at a stone's throw away distance either from their place of residence or from place of work, they may consider going these places in their free time. When a Singapore municipal corporation, for instance, adopted a similar initiative, local people welcomed this move and started going regularly to gyms, yoga centers and jogging tracks. With this type of experiment after one year, Singapore government's official records showed a 2 kg average reduction in their citizens' weight.

In addition to this, to combat this problem importance of fitness must be incorporated in school curriculum. This The reason for this is children's ability to learn and follow their childhood habits for a lifetime. Juveniles, for instance, if start learning about various sports and exercises during their school hours, they may develop interest in such subjects. As a result, after returning home, they may ask their parents to participate in their sports activities. This will also become their habit in the long run, which may avoid obesity risk unless there is some other reason behind their obesity.

In conclusion, despite serious obesity conditions worldwide, both rich and poor nations can mitigate this problem by taking corrective measures. However, I personally think individual overweight depends on a number of reasons and a systematic approach towards our lifestyle may reap better benefits for us.