One of the consequences of improved medical care is that the people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

With the advances in technology and the use of modern facilities the medical care has forged ahead improving the life span of the people. Although, the elders will share with the community their knowledge and life experiences which in turn leads to development, they put a pressure on the family and financial system of the society. In my opinion, with the enhancement in healthcare facilities more benefits are provided to the world which will be discussed further in this essay

People will live prolonged, healthy and energetic lives with refinement in the medical amenities as it will deliver remedies for nearly all the world's ailments as well as they will actively participate in many sports like golf, chess and so on. In fact, the older and more experienced generation of the society will gift to the humanity their knowledge. For example, there are many professors, researchers, writers and scientist who can impart their life experiences, expertise and knowledge with younger generations. Furthermore, they are an asset to the organisations who are enriched with erudition, skills and experiences which will help in the growth and expansion of the administrations.

On the contrary, owing to the advanced medicinal technology, there are some drawbacks connected with increased life expectancy. Firstly, the old generation are a burden on the society as they are more prone to health care treatments and diseases. This will put a pressure on the government as they will have to spend more money on medical equipment’s, medicine and health care rehabilitation. For example, countries like Japan have a huge financial burden to heal and cure the ailments of its elderly people. In fact, more doctors and nurses would have to be employed increasing the fund allocation as their salaries. Secondly, the senior citizens put a constraint on the family as they will have to spend more time on taking care of their physical conditions and taking them to the doctors for regular check-ups along with doing job. Due to which they will not have any time for themselves or their children.

To conclude, the advantages of the improved medical facilities far outweigh its disadvantages. Even if the older generation puts a financial constraint on the nation, still they help in the development of the society by sharing its valuable knowledge and expertise