For many, shopping malls are great places to spend their leisure time and meet others. People, however, in the past mostly visited those when necessary.

To what extent do you think this is a negative trend?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the current scenario, people prefer to spend their idle hours in shopping complexes with their friends and family than pursuing their hobbies or any other outdoor activities. Due to this there are shopping malls in every nook and corner of the country to attract people. Despite the few positive aspects, there are several negative aspects of shopping malls which will be discussed further in this essay.

To embark on, modern shopping malls are a hub of many attractions like restaurants, movie theatre, food court, salons, branded clothing, cosmetics , massage parlour, kids zone, grocery store and so on in other words everything is available to humans under one roof. People are often seen spending their time shopping or having a dine out in these shopping plazas as they believe that it helps to distress themselves from the daily mundane activities. For example, The young generation spends most of the quality time after their colleges or coaching centres with their friends in these plazas watching a movie or enjoying a meal. Moreover, the shopping mall magnetises the people by offering discounts and offers on clothing, cosmetics and grocery shopping that is why they prefer to visit the malls most of the time.

On the contrary, there are many ill effects linked with the shopping malls. Physical activity of people has reduced as they do not prefer to follow their leisure interest, play any sport or do physical exercise. Moreover, people spend their time in shopping malls having junk and innutritious food. For example, earlier this year a WHO study concluded that due to the mall culture obesity has increased at an alarming rate among young adults. Furthermore, People are becoming more shopaholic spending their hard-earned money on purchasing unnecessary things from malls.

To conclude, the disadvantages of shopping malls far outweigh the advantages. People should consider curtailing mall visits for inconsequential activities and only consider them when no other option is available.