Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

History, at its simplest, is the study of past events. It is an account of the nation’s period of glory and struggle. Some people believe that studying history is not at all important while others have an opinion that it is essential to have knowledge about history. But is studying past useful or is it just a waste of time? This will be discussed further in this essay.

We learn from history is that we learn nothing from history. Many people believe in this statement as they have a viewpoint that History is a subject rarely used in people’s life, instead they should focus on science and technology which is more relevant for the society’s future development. History as a subject in schools and colleges is irrelevant as students are imposed to memorise the dates, names and facts which is not useful in every day’s life. Knowledge about the past even is not required because every historical event has a different perspective, in other words it is interpreted in different way by different people.

However, learning history and knowing about the past prepares for the future. It is popularly said that those who don’t know History are doomed to repeat it. History helps people to understand their culture and how their country was evolved. It provides the understanding of what the great leaders have suffered in the past in order to make the country of what it is today. It is important for people to remember these events in order to honour the sacrifices they have made for their country.

To sum up, studying history can not only deepen and widen our knowledge

but also help us develop the power of analysis. Thus, we are able to look at what is

happening at present from a historical perspective and better understanding.