The only way to solve the increasing crime rate of young offenders is to teach parents better parenting skills. To what extent do you agree?

Raising a child is the most important role that a parent has to play. Many people believe that appropriate guidance and moral values help in reducing criminal activity in youngsters. I partially believe that only parental skills are not enough to reduce crime. There are other factors of society which contributes to the right upbringing of the child. This essay will discuss the factors which can help in decreasing wrongdoing among youngsters.

Family is the primary institution where the child starts his first learning about right or wrong. The parents impart high moral values to their children who set the base of his character. Parents need to give special attention to teenagers who are more inclined towards technology. Due to excessive use technology, teenagers are exposed to dangerous materials which may alter their actions. Mother and father need to become friends with teenagers so that open communication is established. In case of any questions or difficulty young kid should feel free to approach his parents for guidance.

It is seen that controlled or abused children tend to do more crime. Therefore caution must be taken when youngster commits any mistake and counselling should be adapted to improve them. Showing anger can make a negative effect on young children; moreover, they may start finding a way to hide things from their parents.

Another way is to keep a watch on the peer group of the teenager. In the maximum teenage influence comes from a similar age. Youths tend to copy each other to remain popular amongst friends. This can be dangerous when the negative impacts are copied such as smoking, drinking, drugs and shoplifting. Such actions are often seen as the early signs which later on develop as a criminal activity.

Lastly, education plays a pivotal role in outlining the youth’s future. Every child should attend minimum schooling year for the bright future. Illiteracy is also a factor because of which crime rates are high. Compulsory education will educate the youngster to choose the right career path.

In conclusion, good parenting is a leading force to guide youngsters towards the correct path, but education and peers are also essential fundamentals for good upbringing.