In order to solve traffic problems, the government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.

What are the positive and negative effects of such solutions?

Nowadays, traffic congestion has caused great concern to the government. For the sake of solving this problem, a huge from the car owners has been put into efforts to enhance public transports. In line with this, both positive and negative effects and of this solution will be discussed in this essay.

The measure of collecting a great extent of tax conveys a lot of benefits. In this case, the huge tax from private car owners could discourage the purchases of a low-level in families, it also enhances public transport to a large degree. Therefore, people could be encouraged to take public transport more often. According to China Daily, the statistic of a large number about encouraging public transportation shows that with a heavy tax on private car owners, 70% of the private car users are largely affected and those who are still using their own cars tend to be taking public transport.

On the other hand, the negative effects cannot be ignored. The poor will be highly affected, which may lead to small business owners not being able to continue what they are relying on. Thus, it could be considered that solution traffic problems will not make any efforts on them. In addition, for most rich people, they still can afford as many cars as they want, which might not solve the traffic condition at all.

In a nutshell, the double-blade of both positive and negative effects are mentioned above. These to think of are that discourage private car purchases in order to take advantage of public transport as a positive effect; and, might encourage the rich to buy more cars as they need as a negative effect.